If profound change is to be achieved, programmes are needed that focus on empowering local people.

Our WE programme works with people in our supply chain factories to help them understand and defend their own rights.

Knowing your rights and articulating demands

The aim of the WE Programme is to improve working conditions in our supply chains in a lasting and self-sustaining way. It provides support for our producers, enabling them to meet and exceed the requirements of our Social and Environmental Code of Conduct (SCoC).

How does WE work exactly?

  • Human rights are complex

    We don't just rely on audits to assess our suppliers. Recognising and preventing sexual harassment requires a different approach than fire safety measures. Human rights are not just a collection of facts. They are based instead on relationships. The key to improvement therefore lies in dialogue between all the people involved: our approach is to change relationships and ways of working in a way that protects human rights. In 2008, when the WE programme was launched, this approach was a real innovation.

  • The five human rights areas in WE

    WE was developed from our evaluation of the human rights risks in our non-food supply chains and is based on the standards of the International Labour Organisation (ILO) and international human rights conventions. The programme centres on those areas with the greatest need for improvement:

    1. Wages and working hours
    2. Freedom of association and workers’ representation
    3. Discrimination and sexual harassment
    4. Health and safety in the workplace
    5. Modern slavery and child labour

  • Taking the factory as a starting point

    The WE programme doesn’t follow a fixed pattern. It takes on a new form in each factory, depending on the problems encountered there or those specific to the sector. Right at the beginning of the WE programme, the participants in the factory are asked to define the problems that they feel are most pressing right at that moment. In doing so, they establish the order in which they want to work on the five human rights areas. We ensure that workers, their representatives and the factory managers always participate in the WE programme together.

    The programme always runs for at least two years at each factory; in every country except China, the programme is run on an ongoing basis. This means ensuring that a dialogue session is held at least every three months and that the development process as a whole does not stall.

  • Dialogue based on trust

    WE is not a training programme – and we believe that dialogue doesn’t just mean getting people to talk to each other. It is a structured process aimed at creating a desirable future and encourages participants to be actively involved in it. WE works closely with local teams of dedicated experts who guide and oversee this process, ensuring that the participants feel completely safe throughout. These are our WE facilitators.

    Working alongside the WE facilitators, participants explore what their workplace and their relationship with each other should look like in the future, rather than focusing solely on current problems. This approach opens up new ways for them to change their reality. We help them to work together to find solutions. Whilst this process does take time, our experience tells us that it enables the people involved to implement the changes that need to be made in their workplaces.

Where is WE?

The WE programme is active in factories in Bangladesh, China, India, Cambodia, Myanmar, Pakistan, Turkey and Vietnam. The factories produce clothing and textiles, leather goods, jewellery, electronics, furniture, metal products and kitchen utensils for Tchibo and other customers.

Our results for 2020

  • 4,200 workers and managers

    took part in the WE programme in 2020.

  • 90 factories

    were involved in the WE programme by the end of 2020, 25 of which were new since 2020. This means that we have involved 424 factories in the programme to date.

  • During the global COVID-19 pandemic,

    we have increasingly relied on online activities with factories or on small group work carried out in strict compliance with hygiene requirements. Topics that have come to the fore during the crisis include occupational health and internal dialogue in factories.

  • WE facilitators

    have been in regular contact with workers and managers to monitor how they are coping with the crisis, whether workers' health is being protected and whether wages are being paid as they should be.

  • In Bangladesh,

    our WE programme helped to set up and train committees to combat sexual harassment and discrimination in four factories.

  • In India, the WE programme helped 13 factories

    set up new grievance committees or improve existing ones. This process has also been started in four other factories.

Challenges we are continuously working on

Despite our continuous efforts to develop the programme over the years, some challenges remain. These are challenges familiar to other professionals in the field of human rights, transformation or development work:

  • Making the WE approach an integral part of factory life

    We strive to ensure that the WE approach and thus the continuous improvement of working conditions is firmly established in all our factories. At the same time, we recognise that application of its methodologies and the work undertaken on it fades into the background, or indeed is forgotten entirely, if we do not oversee the work. This can even happen in factories that have made good improvements during the process. There can be a variety of reasons for this. Usually, there is a combination of underlying factors: a lack of commitment from company and factory management, other priorities in the day-to-day running of production operations, and staff turnover – including in middle management.
    Our approach: We currently provide ongoing support to factories in every country with the exception of China. For China, we are in the process of drawing up a process that will enable us to have regular contact with factories, without having to oversee the programme in its entirety long-term. We are committed to establishing processes in the factories, empowering workers' representatives and involving trade unions.

  • Commitment of company management

    The consent and support of a company's management is essential if we are to achieve as many lasting improvements as possible in the factories. This is not always achievable - in part because the companies in question are often large enterprises whose management is based in countries other than those where the factories are located.
    Our approach: We engage with our fellow purchasers to stress the importance of the programme. The first measure taken in each factory is to inform and involve the factory management on a regular basis.

  • Reaching out to the entire workforce

    Many factories in Asia have several thousand employees. This makes it impossible for us to include every individual worker in the programme. At the same time, the aim is to ensure that as many workers as possible are informed about their rights and benefit from the improvements.
    Our approach: We are committed to establishing processes in the factories, empowering workers' representatives and involving trade unions. We carry out activities aimed at increasing the visibility of the work that is being done, such as poster parades in the canteen, for example.

  • Measuring impact

    It is our experience that the WE programme works – often seen in the form of changes in behaviour. Traditional, quantitative impact measurement, which assumes simple mechanisms of action (activity A causes B), is often not capable of capturing this. Our work has taught us that interdependencies are often more complex. We are therefore looking for new ways of measuring impact, incorporating in particular the stories of those involved and their experiences.

What we have learnt – and changed

2008

WE programme starts

Pilot phase with the German Society for International Cooperation (GIZ)

2012

Integration in the Tchibo supply chain

Roll-out of the WE programme begins in 2012. In addition to the pilot countries Bangladesh, China, Laos and Thailand, we also set up the WE programme in Ethiopia, India, Cambodia, Turkey and Vietnam. By the end of 2015, 323 factories have been included in the programme.

2016

Refocus

At this point, as is not uncommon when undergoing expansion, we realise that we have now placed too much emphasis on quantity over quality in the expansion process: we put human rights issues and WE values (dialogue, empowerment and co-creation) firmly centre stage once more.

2018

Strengthening local teams

We continue to implement the changes introduced in 2016, whilst at the same time focusing on strengthening and linking up the local WE teams.

Images from our WE training

Tiefgreifender Wandel erfordert Programme, die auf die Befähigung der Menschen vor Ort setzen.

Unser WE Programm unterstützt Menschen in den Fabriken unserer Lieferketten darin, ihre eigenen Rechte zu erkennen und für sie einzustehen.

Eigene Rechte kennen und Ansprüche formulieren

Das Ziel des WE Programms besteht darin, die Arbeitsbedingungen in unseren Lieferketten dauerhaft und selbsttragend zu verbessern. Es unterstützt unsere Produzent*innen, die Vorgaben unseres Social and Environmental Code of Conduct (SCoC) einzuhalten und darüber hinaus zu gehen.

Wie funktioniert WE genau?

  • Menschenrechte sind komplex

    Wir verlassen uns nicht auf die reine Kontrolle unserer Zuliefer*innen durch Audits. Sexuelle Belästigung zu erkennen und zu verhindern braucht andere Herangehensweisen als Feuerschutzmaßnahmen. Menschenrechte sind nicht nur ein Resultat von Fakten, sondern basieren auf Beziehungen. Der Schlüssel für Verbesserungen liegt deshalb im Dialog aller beteiligten Menschen: Er ist unser Weg, Beziehungen und Arbeitsweisen so zu verändern, dass Menschenrechte geschützt werden. 2008, zu Beginn des WE Programms, war dieser Ansatz eine echte Innovation.

  • Die 5 Menschenrechtsbereiche in WE

    WE basiert auf unserer Abschätzung der menschenrechtlichen Risiken in unseren Non Food-Lieferketten und orientiert sich an den Standards der Internationalen Arbeitsorganisation ILO und internationalen Menschenrechtskonventionen. Es konzentriert sich auf die Bereiche mit dem größten Verbesserungsbedarf:

    1. Löhne und Arbeitszeit
    2. Vereinigungsfreiheit und Arbeitnehmer*innenvertretung
    3. Diskriminierung und sexuelle Belästigung
    4. Gesundheit und Sicherheit am Arbeitsplatz
    5. Moderne Sklaverei und Kinderarbeit

  • Die Fabrik als Ausgangspunkt

    Das WE Programm läuft nicht nach einem festen Muster ab. Es entsteht in jeder Fabrik neu, je nachdem welche Probleme sie hat oder welche spezifisch für ihren Sektor sind. Sobald WE in einer Fabrik startet, definieren die Teilnehmer*innen die Probleme, die für sie gerade am dringlichsten sind. Sie legen so die Reihenfolge fest, in der sie die fünf Menschenrechtsbereiche bearbeiten wollen. Wir stellen sicher, dass immer Arbeiter*innen und deren Vertreter*innen sowie Fabrikmanager*innen gemeinsam an WE teilnehmen.

    Das Programm läuft je Fabrik immer mindestens zwei Jahre lang; in allen Ländern außer China führen wir das Programm kontinuierlich fort. Das heißt: Wir achten darauf, dass mindestens alle drei Monate eine Dialogeinheit stattfindet und der gesamte Entwicklungsprozess nicht abreißt.

  • Vertrauensvoller Dialog

    WE ist kein Trainingsprogramm – und Dialog heißt für uns nicht nur, dass Menschen miteinander reden. Er ist ein strukturierter Prozess, um eine wünschenswerte Zukunft zu schaffen, und fordert die Teilnehmer*innen auf, aktiv daran teilzunehmen. Um für sie ein hohes Maß an Sicherheit zu schaffen, arbeitet WE mit lokalen Teams spezialisierter Expert*innen, die diesen Prozess steuern und begleiten. Sie sind unsere WE Facilitator*innen.

    Gemeinsam mit den WE Facilitator*innen setzen sich die Teilnehmenden damit auseinander, wie ihr Arbeitsplatz und ihre Beziehungen zueinander in Zukunft aussehen sollten, anstatt ihren Blick ausschließlich auf die bestehenden Probleme zu verengen. Dieser Ansatz eröffnet ihnen neue Wege, ihre Realität zu verändern. Wir unterstützen sie dabei, alle Lösungen zusammen zu erarbeiten. Der Prozess nimmt Zeit in Anspruch. Gleichzeitig zeigt unsere Erfahrung, dass die Beteiligten nötige Veränderungen an ihrem Arbeitsplatz auf diesem Weg am besten umsetzen können.

Wo ist WE?

Das WE Programm ist in Fabriken in Bangladesch, China, Indien, Kambodscha, Myanmar, Pakistan, der Türkei und Vietnam aktiv. Die Fabriken stellen Bekleidung und Textilien, Lederwaren, Schmuck, Elektronikartikel, Möbel, Metallwaren und Küchenutensilien für Tchibo und andere Kunden her.

Unsere Ergebnisse 2020

  • 4.200 Arbeiter*innen und Manager*innen

    haben 2020 am WE Programm teilgenommen.

  • 90 Fabriken

    sind Ende 2020 Teil des WE Programms, davon 25 neu seit 2020. Damit haben wir im Laufe der Jahre 424 Fabriken integriert.

  • In der weltweiten COVID-19 Pandemie

    haben wir verstärkt auf Online-Aktivitäten mit Fabriken gesetzt oder die Arbeit in Kleingruppen unter strenger Einhaltung der Hygienevorgaben durchgeführt. Als Themen sind der Gesundheitsschutz und der fabrikinterne Dialog in Krisenzeiten in den Vordergrund gerückt.

  • WE Facilitator*innen

    standen regelmäßig mit Arbeiter*innen und Manager*innen in Kontakt, um nachzuvollziehen, wie diese durch die Krise kommen, ob Gesundheitsschutz eingehalten und Löhne rechtmäßig gezahlt wurden.

  • In Bangladesch haben wir mit WE in vier Fabriken

    die Gründung und Weiterbildung von Komitees gegen sexuelle Belästigung und Diskriminierung unterstützt.

  • In Indien haben wir mit WE 13 Fabriken

    beim Aufbau neuer oder bei der Verbesserung bestehender Beschwerdekomitees unterstützt. In vier weiteren Fabriken wurde dieser Prozess ebenfalls begonnen.

Hausausforderungen, an denen wir kontinuierlich arbeiten

Auch wenn wir über die Jahre das Programm kontinuierlich weiterentwickeln, bleiben einige Herausforderungen bestehen – diese sind auch anderen Fachleuten im Bereich der Menschenrechts-, Transformations- oder Entwicklungsarbeit bekannt:

  • Dauerhafte Verankerung des WE Ansatzes in den Fabriken

    Wir streben an, dass sich der WE Ansatz und damit die kontinuierliche Verbesserung der Arbeitsbedingungen dauerhaft in den Fabriken verankert. Gleichzeitig stellen wir fest, dass die Anwendung der Methoden und die Arbeit daran in den Hintergrund oder sogar in Vergessenheit geraten, wenn wir die Arbeit nicht begleiten. Das kann auch bei Fabriken geschehen, welche im Prozess gute Verbesserungen erzielt haben. Dies kann unterschiedliche und mehrere Gründe haben: fehlendes Engagement der Firmen- und Fabrikleitung, andere Prioritäten im Alltag der Produktion, Personalfluktuation auch im mittleren Management.
    Unsere Herangehensweise: In allen Ländern außer China begleiten wir die Fabriken momentan kontinuierlich. Für China entwickeln wir einen Ablauf, um regelmäßig mit Fabriken in Kontakt zu treten, ohne das Programm in vollem Umfang dauerhaft zu begleiten; unser Einkauf ist in diesen Prozess und in die Auswahl der Fabriken eingebunden. Wir setzen darauf, in den Fabriken Prozesse zu etablieren, Arbeitnehmervertreter*innen zu stärken und Gewerkschaften einzubeziehen.

  • Engagement der Firmenleitung

    Um möglichst viele und dauerhafte Verbesserungen in den Fabriken zu erreichen, braucht es die Zustimmung und die Unterstützung der Firmenleitung. Dies ist nicht immer zu erreichen – auch weil es sich teilweise um große Unternehmen handelt, deren Firmenleitung in anderen Ländern sitzt als an den Fabrikstandorten.
    Unsere Herangehensweise: Wir beziehen die Einkaufskolleg*innen mit ein, um die Bedeutung des Programms herauszustellen. Die erste Aktivität in einer Fabrik richtet sich an die Fabrikleitung; sie wird im Verlauf regelmäßig informiert und einbezogen.

  • Beteiligung der gesamten Belegschaft

    Viele Fabriken in Asien haben einige Tausend Mitarbeiter*innen. Deshalb ist es uns nicht möglich, alle Beschäftigten direkt in das Programm einzubeziehen. Gleichzeitig ist es das Ziel, dass möglichst viele Arbeiter*innen über ihre Rechte informiert werden und von den Verbesserungen profitieren.
    Unsere Herangehensweise: Wir setzen darauf, in den Fabriken Prozesse zu etablieren, Arbeitnehmervertreter*innen zu stärken und Gewerkschaften einzubeziehen. Wir führen Aktivitäten durch, die auf die Sichtbarkeit der Arbeit zielen, wie beispielsweise Poster-Paraden in der Kantine.

  • Wirkungsmessung

    Wir erleben, dass das WE Programm wirkt – oft in Form von verändertem Verhalten. Dies ist mit klassischer, quantitativer Wirkungsmessung oft nicht abbildbar, die von einfachen Wirkmechanismen ausgeht (Aktivität A bewirkt B). In unserer Arbeit haben wir festgestellt, dass Wirkzusammenhänge oft komplexer sind. Wir suchen deshalb nach neuen Formen der Wirkungsmessung, in die wir vor allem die Geschichten der Beteiligten und ihre Erfahrungen einbeziehen.

Was wir gelernt und verändert haben

2008

Start des WE Programms

Pilotphase mit der Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ)

2012

Einbau in die Tchibo Lieferkette

Seit 2012 rollen wir das WE Programm aus. Neben den Ländern der Pilotphase, Bangladesch, China, Laos und Thailand, bauen wir das WE Programm auch in Äthiopien, Indien, Kambodscha, in der Türkei und in Vietnam auf. Bis Ende 2015 haben wir 323 Fabriken integriert.

2016

Refokussierung

Wie bei Expansionen nicht unüblich, stellen wir zu diesem Zeitpunkt fest, dass wir beim Ausbau zwischenzeitlich zu sehr auf Quantität statt Qualität gesetzt haben: Wir rücken die menschenrechtlichen Themen und die WE Werte (Dialog, Empowerment und Co-Creation zurück in den Mittelpunkt.

2018

Stärkung der Teams vor Ort

Wir führen die 2016 eingeleiteten Änderungen fort und setzen dabei gleichzeitig auf eine Stärkung und Vernetzung der lokalen WE Teams.

Bilder aus unseren WE Trainings